Cities & Towns:

Alamosa County is in the heart of the San Luis Valley in south central Colorado. Alamosa was originally founded as a railroad center for the Denver & Rio Grande Railroad but has evolved over the years into the primary government and shopping center in the San Luis Valley. The county name is a Spanish word for "grove of cottonwood trees." Alamosa County contains 723 square miles of land and 1 square mile of water. The county seat is Alamosa. This was part of Costilla County, one of the original 17 counties of Colorado, but the state legislature officially carved out and separated Alamosa County on March 8, 1913.

Alamosa County, Colorado
Historical site in Mosca